Blog Post Everyday In April; Anti NMDA Receptor Encephalitis.. WHAT IS IT?

Hey everyone, today I am going to tell your about my illness.

Anti NMDA Receptor Encephalitis

What is it?

Anti NMDA Receptor Encephalitis is a rare illness that causes the brain to order the body to attack itself. 

What are the symptoms?

The onset of the illness starts with flu-like symptoms, a headache, sore throat, a cold. Some symptoms of this illness are seizures, memory loss, mood swings/behavioural changes, paranoia, speech problems and loss of consciousness. It also can cause tumours and in some cases death.

Is the disease curable?

At the moment, no. It is treatable though, steroids helped me but I am suffering now trying to lose the weight and you are only allowed to have up to three infusions, that is if you take to them the first time. The steroids also only helped me for about 2-3 months, but that’s better than nothing I suppose.


Me when I first was admitted to hospital and got diagnosed with the disease.

Me now.
Hope you enjoyed reading this post, this week I’ll also be posting the story of the night I was admitted! Also; if you have any questions please feel free to ask πŸ™‚ 

Katie x

Leave a Reply

