A poem about my illness

Let me introduce myself, 

You don’t know me yet, but by the time you do

You’ll wish we had never met.

I will take your memory, 

I will take your speech, 

I will make you see and hear horrible things.

You will no longer be able to eat, 

You will no longer be able to sleep, 

You will no longer be able to breathe, 

I will play with your heart, and just for fun

I may also make it stop.

Your arms and legs will be at my command,

and these are just a few things I can do.

You will be mine, all mine,

Let me introduce myself,

My name is Anti NMDA Receptor Encephalitis.

Thank you for reading,

Katie x

Leave a Reply

